Cricketer Kirstan Kallicharan and Khalifa St Fort were named Male and Female Youth of the Year awards respectively when the First Citizens Sports Foundation hosted its Youth Awards 2016 at the Grand Ballroom of the Hilton Trinidad, St Ann’s on Friday night.
Kirstan’s brother Hans collected the award for Kallicharan, currently on duty with the national u-19 team for the WICB Regional tournament in Antigua.
Kallicharan and St Fort emerged from the top 11 athletes, which was whittled down from the original 45 nominees hailing from 27 sporting disciplines.
For St Fort, it was her second consecutive lien on the title after claiming it last year. St Fort, whose main achievement was the Women’s 100m bronze at the IAAF Youth World Track and Field Championships in Poland last year, also doubled up with the Junior Sportswoman of the Year award at the Annual Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) Awards Ceremony held at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad in December.
Kallicharan was part of the all-conquering West Indies u-19 squad at the ICC u-19 World Cup in Bangladesh and also contributed 244 runs (including knocks of 110 and 91) in Trinidad and Tobago’s successful campaign in the West Indies U-19 Championships three-day competition.
He was also captain of the Trinidad and Tobago team that captured the West Indies Under 17 Championships.
Besides her Poland exploit, St Fort also gained the gold in the Women’s 100m at the Carifta games in Grenada last year.
For her part, St Fort said: “I am honoured to win another award, Just to be able to represent Trinidad and Tobago is a blessing and to be recognised makes it all worth it.”
St Fort continued: “It is just as sweet to be recognised for the hard work because people sometimes don’t realise how hard you work to lay it all on the line for your country,”
St Fort said her goal for this year is to go sub 11 and sub 23 in the 100 and 200 respectively. She is also preparing for Carifta and World Championships in London this year.
Chairman of the First Citizens Sport Foundation Dr Keith Clifford brought greetings while former national rugby player Kwanieze John delivered the feature address imploring athletes to be resilient and focused.
Chairman of the Sport Company of Trinidad and Tobago Michael Phillips also gave a brief address at the event

Male Youth of the Year – Kirstan Kallicharan
Female Youth of the Year- Khalifa St Fort
Top 11

Kirstan Kallicharan (Cricket)
Khalifa St Fort (Athletics)
Tyriq Horsford (Athletics)
Nicholas Paul (Cycling)
Jeron Thompson (Swimming)
Gabriella Donahue
Sachin Kumar (Golf)
Brittany Joseph (Table Tennis)
Aaron Wilson (Table Tennis)
Cheslea Mofford (Taekwondo)
Kate Gordon (Karate)

Special Olympics
Jaleel Jelani Pierre (Aquatics)
Tamika Campbell (Basketball)
Alicia Khan (Bocce)
Luke Laldeo (Floor Hockey)
Tyrese Pierre (Football)
T-Shian Gibson (Volleyball)

Youth Sports Awards - 2015

Youth Sports Awards - 2014

Youth Sports Awards - 2013

More Videos:

First Citizens Sports Foundation Youth Awards 2013 - Part 1-4

First Citizens Youth Awards 2012 Top Ten

First Citizens Youth Awards 2012 Parts 1-4

First Citizens Youth Awards 2011 Parts 1-4