Dreams and Circles of Excellence

Several months of hard work and meticulous planning by the First Citizens Sports Foundation, culminated in the staging of two successful ward functions held in honour of our nation’s sporting heroes. On February 4, 2011 at a gala Youth Awards Ceremony themed ‘Dream’, thirtay four successful young sporting personalities were honoured.

In the end, the top ten youth were named which included Cherelle Thompson (Swimming), Denise Francis (Cycling), Amelia Corbie (Taekwando), Channon Thompson (Volleyball), Kernesha Spann (Athletics), Quinn Cabralis (Chess), Cadell Lyons (Swimming), Quincy Alexander (Cycling), Brandon Legall (Volleyball) and Christian Homer (Swimming).

Adding to the excitement, awards were also distributed to the Top Special Olympic Athletes, Most Outstanding Paralympic Athlete and to students and schools who won the Sportsmanship Awards. Entertainer Neval Chatelal brought the evening to a close with an energetic medley of songs that definitely inspired the top ten to ‘dream’ of being named Youth of the Year.

The honour roll didn’t end there however, as on February 9 at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA), the Foundation again staged another first-class event – Sports Awards 2010. On that night, it was all about ‘Circles of Excellence’, with the spotlight being turned on forty-nine of the nation’s senior sportsmen and women.

The Trinidad and Tobago Netball Association kicked off the list of awardees copping the Jeffrey Stollmeyer Award while the Lystra Lewis Award for the top team went to the Trinidad & Tobago Women’s Hockey Team.

The night was also full of excitement and expectation for the Top Ten Youth Awardees which came to an end with applauds ringing out as Christian Homer and Cherelle Thompson, both swimmers were announced as Top Male and Female Youth winners.

As the suspense stirred, the Top Ten Athletes of the Year 2010 were announced. Roger Daniel (Shooting), Jehue Gordon (Athletics), George Bovell III (Swimming), Adrian Barath (Cricket), Tariq Abdul Haaq (Boxing), Njisane Phillip (Cycling), Cleopatra Borel-Brown (Shot Putt) Monifa Sealy (Golf), Anisa Mohammed (Cricket) and Kelly Ann Billingy (Volleyball) emerged as the 2010 top ten performers.

However, it was Roger Daniel and Cleopatra Borel-Brown who were announced as the 2010 Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year respectively.

First Citizens Sports Foundation left little to be desired as they aimed to please with this year’s moments of sporting recognition.

Previous Image
Next Image