The Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1984 under the Chairmanship of Lystra D. Lewis when the Foundation was known as the WITCO Sports Foundation. It was established to ensure that the nation’s history of sporting accomplishments is not only kept alive and fresh in the public domain, but also to ensure that this history is indelibly preserved for posterity.  The Sports Hall of Fame offers the only documented history of the accomplishments of our national sporting heroes over the years, and has become one of the signature projects of the First Citizens Sports Foundation. 

The Sports Hall of Fame initiative is expected to contribute significantly to helping the foundation successfully carry out its Mission, i.e. “To recognize and promote a culture of excellence in SPORT at all levels of society”, and also to provide a major vehicle through which the Foundation may achieve its vision of being “the leading catalyst for the delivery and development of SPORT in Trinidad and Tobago”. This is so because knowledge and respect for the achievements of the past play key roles in the formation of our present sport culture.

This website is intended to serve as an easily accessible archive for public research on all members of the Sports Hall of Fame.
The Sports Hall of Fame was established with three principal objectives:

  1. Paying tribute to our outstanding achievers in sport,
  2. Establishing a permanent record of the achievements of the inductees, and
  3. Instilling a feeling of national pride in the wider community. 

The first induction into the Sports Hall of Fame took place in January 1984 and to date a total of 181 of Trinidad and Tobago’s outstanding Sportsmen and Sportswomen have been inducted. The next induction is projected to be in 2015 when a new crop of our outstanding heroes will join the elite and exquisite team of Hall of Famers.

Members are inducted in three categories, namely Sportspersons, Administrators, and Coaches.



DATE OF BIRTH: March 26, 1944
PLACE OF BIRTH: Fyzabad, Trinidad
  • Southern Oropouche Government Primary School
  • Mucurapo Girls’ R.C. School, Port of Spain
  • Progressive Educational Institute, Port of Spain
  • Dartford College of Physical Education for Teachers, Kent, England (Diploma in Physical Education)
  • St. Thomas University, Miami, Florida, USA (BA, Sports Administration, 1958; MS, Sports Administration/Management, 1990)
CAREER:                                 Pierre was an outstanding netball player who played on the higly decorated 1979 T&T netball team that shared the World Championship with Australia and New Zealand. She later became a government sports minister in Trinidad from 1991 to 1995. In recognition of her contributions to netball in T&T, the Jean Pierre sports complex in Port-of-Spain was named after her.

  • 1974 – Trinidad & Tobago Humming Bird Medal Gold (for Netball)
  • 1979 – Trinidad & Tobago Trinity Cross (for Netball)
  • 1979 – Trinidad & Tobago Chaconia Medal Gold
DIED: December 2, 2002, after a long battle with colon cancer in the Cayman Islands where she was working as a coach.
Compiled by Ronald C. Emrit